A look inside an artist’s process…

Above is a series of photos documenting a recent portrait study. . I thought it would be interesting to show what work and planning goes on before starting a full sized formal portrait. In this study I am working out the color placement and composition. if this does not work, then I would produce alternate studies to choose from. 

At this stage I am not doing much detail. I did get feedback from the subject of this particular piece and they actually preferred the level of detail in the study as opposed to having the look of a more “worked” formal portrait. As with anything, you have to know when to quit and call it done. 

I’ve known and exhibited in the same circles as Barbara since we met in 2006, in a writer’s group no less. Once things get back to some semblance of normalcy, Barbara and I will be co-exhibiting a show of water color dogs by her and acrylic cats by me. ~Matt Snyder

Pennsylvania artist, Barbara Hughes, lives and paints in the beautiful surroundings of the Lehigh Valley. Barbara graduated with a degree in art from Moravian College in Bethlehem, Pa. and has continued her interest in figurative drawing and painting into her retirement years. She is a member of The Portrait Society of America and The Maryland Society of Portrait Painters. Her portfolio can be found at BarbaraHughesFineArt.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.